The Whirling Mountain of the Navajos 3

The Serpentine Rainbow Goddess and the Ouroboros

Encircled all around the Central Mountain and the four subsidiary peaks of the Navajo mandala we have the Rainbow Goddess, here figured as a snake. This Rainbow Snake that encircles the whole Earth is indeed the Circular Ocean. It is sometimes made double as all things are dual. The earth-encircling ocean has its double (or microcosmic replica) in the River Oceanus that encircled Atlantis, as well as its many counterparts all over the world.

The great circle of the Ocean is represented as a giant snake (the Ouroboros). It opens towards the Orient, in an obvious reference to the Gates of Paradise, which lies towards that conventional direction. The Circular Ocean is also shown explicitly in the Hindu mandalas of Fig. 3, one of which is the famous Shri Yantra, in a stylized rendering. The lotus on top the Holy Mountain of the Hindu mandala of Fig. 3 is indeed the Golden Lotus whose esoteric meaning we examine elsewhere in detail. The Golden Lotus is indeed the “atomic mushroom” of the giant volcanic explosion that destroyed the site of Paradise and ultimately caused its sinking away. This “lotus” is the Pillar of Fire and Smoke that guided the Israelites on their flight from the site of Sinai, precisely the same mountain that the Hindus call Meru and the Greeks called Mt. Atlas.

The Circular Ocean is, in reality, the same as the River Oceanus that encircled Atlantis, according to the description of Plato and others. This circular river (or canal, rather) is a classical feature of the traditional descriptions of the Hindu Dvipas (Paradises). It was, just as in Greece, also the circular river of Hades which the Greeks equated with the Styx and the Hindus with the infernal Vaitarani, for sunken Atlantis veritably turned from Paradise into Hell.

Mt. Meru and the Whirling Mountain

Anyone familiar with Hindu mythology will immediately recognize that the above Four Colors Red, White, Yellow, Black are those of the Hindu varnas (or “castes”). And, in fact, these four colors represent the Four Races of Mankind, which originated in Paradise, at least, according to tradition. The arrangement of the Central (or Whirling) Mountain surrounded by four subsidiary peaks in the Navajo sandpainted mandalas also corresponds to that of Mt. Meru, flanked by its Four Guardians and their corresponding four subsidiary mountain peaks. In India, as with the Navajos, the Four Guardians are also represented as either gods (Lokapalas), mountains, snakes (Nagas) or birds (Garudas), which are frequent animal shapes assumed by them.

Moreover, each of the Four Hindu Guardians is also associated with a heraldic colour, in exact correspondence to the Navajo ones: White, Yellow, Black and Red. Red is the color of death and bloodshed, representing the warrior caste. This is symbolically equivalent to purple or blue, the color associated with death by asphyxia (drowning, hanging, etc.). This “death” is the drowning of Atlantis-Paradise turned into Hades, into the Realm of the Dead, by the cataclysm.

The other three colors also correspond to the other three castes of Vedic India. So it is visible that the Hindu tradition somehow passed into the Americas, where it was universally utilized. As can be seen in Fig. 3, the four sides of Mt. Meru are also similarly colored with the Four Varnas. The Four Subsidiary Centers (or Guardians) are sometimes represented by the Four Trees shown in Fig. 2 or by buffaloes (not shown) or, yet by Winds, Suns, Moons, Bats (Vampires), Thunderbolts, as well as by Coiled or by Standing Serpents resembling zigzag lightning and ball lightning.

The Central Mountain is sometimes shown as a sort of rosacea (or four-leafed clover), with each leaf of one of the above four colors. This rosacea shape of the Holy Mountain is also frequent in India, where it was often identified to the Lotus or Rose, another allegory of Creation. More exactly, the Lotus allegorizes, as we just said, the “atomic mushroom” of the colossal explosion of Mt. Atlas, the one that destroyed Paradise. It was this explosion that drove the survivors out, and triggered the process of Creation everywhere, in a worldwide scale.

The rosacea of the Navajos (and other related forms) really represents a pyramid of four sides terminated by a round base. This is an exact replica of Mt. Meru of the Hindus, which is the true archetype of all such four-sided pyramids or mountains from all over the world. Mt. Meru is also the Polar (or Whirling) Mountain, turning at the Center and supporting the skies, just as is the case with Mt. Atlas, the Pillar of the Skies, in Greek myths.

In other words, what the Whirling Mountain of the Navajo Indians indeed represents is Mt. Atlas, the Pillar of the World. And this “pillar”, the Pillar of Heaven, is, as we just said, the same as the Pillar of Fire and Smoke topping Mt. Sinai during the Exodus. Mt. Atlas is just the name given by the Greeks to Mt. Meru, the Holy Mountain of Vedic Traditions. It was from this hymnary and the associated Hindu myths that the Greeks copied their traditions on Atlantis, already old in India and Indonesia when the Greek nation not even existed as such.

The Greeks translated as “Atlas” the Hindu name of Atalas, another name of Mt. Meru, the Mountain of Paradise. This Sanskrit word means something like “sunken down”, and was rendered it into the Greek language as Atlas, a word they likewise derived from a-tla, meaning “the one that did not (a) bear out (tla)”, which is approximately the same etym. As is clear, the Greeks copied their myths on Atlas and Atlantis from the Hindu/Indonesian ones, which are not only far older, but indeed conformal to the local geography and factual traditions.

So, the coincidence is not only of the actual traditions, but also of the very names between Greek myths and Hindu ones. And the region where the terrible event indeed took place was Indonesia, the true site of the former Hindu Paradise (Atala) turned Hell. What else can we conclude but that the tradition of Atlantis indeed derives from the Indies and that it is there that we must search Atlantis-Eden and the origin of Mankind and Civilization?

The Four Guardians and the Lokapalas

Alternatively, in other Navajo mandalas, the Four Guardians are represented as Four Suns, Four Moons (identical) or as two pairs of Suns and Moons.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *